The surprising success of salad soup

Standard

Cost:  Under $1
Success:  5/5

I’ve found it takes a mix of proactivity, creativity and desperation to use up all the food in my fridge before it goes bad. To get some help with the last one, I decided not to buy groceries this week.

I wasn’t sure what to do with my big bag of aging, discoloured and slightly slimy mixed salad (iceberg lettuce, red cabbage and carrots) so I asked my friend Jolene if she had any good ideas. She suggested making a cabbage soup. I have such clever friends.

This is how I made my loose adaptation of the recipe; I boiled some green tea, added lots of mixed salad, a tomato, half an onion, beef stock and ground pepper. I boiled it for about 10 minutes.

This soup had a lot working against it. I didn’t have all of the ingredients from the recipe, and putting lettuce into a soup just seemed weird. My mixed salad was looking pretty sad too.

I was expecting something barely edible, but it was actually really good! It reminded me of some of the soups and stews my Grandma used to make. It had a slightly Eastern European flavour, and while I was eating it I felt like it must be good for me on some level.

Leave a Reply

