Party platters on the cheap

Standard

Cost: $12 including lots of leftover vegetables
Success: 5/5

Overall, I spent a lot of money on food for my housewarming party. I feel like if I had planned a little better, I could have saved quite a bit. Now that I know what is popular, I will be able to save money next time I have a party.

What I learned:

  • Having a vegetable platter and a cracker/sausage/cheese platter and some chips is a good and inexpensive start
  • Drinks really add up when you get different types of pop, juice, tea, coffee and so on. I only had one bottle of wine (which I got free when I gave away a bookcase)
  • People will bring food, even if you tell them not to worry about it
  • $12 buys a lot of vegetables from the farmer’s market
  • It’s really easy and inexpensive to make chip and vegetable dips
  • Kids love familiar foods like chicken fingers

I was pretty pleased with my vegetable platter, because it was full of fresh and healthy vegetables, and it didn’t cost much at all. Something similar at the grocery store would have been at least $10, with sadder vegetables and less variety. I used maybe 20% of the vegetables I bought in the platter, and the rest I have been eating my way through. I also saved money by making my own dip, which is ridiculously easy. I will stretch that into another entry, because otherwise I’d run out of stuff to write about!

I stopped by the farmer’s market, where I got 3 boxes of mini tomatoes, 3 peppers, a head of cauliflower, a head of broccoli, tiny carrots, and celery for $12. Pretty sweet! There were some especially good deals on that day, so the peppers were about half the normal price, and the tiny tomatoes too.

Also while I was there, I bought an oregano and a basil plant to replace my last ones, may they rest in peace. They were $2.50 each.

2 responses »

    • Yes! It’s cheaper in the US.

      Gas is also cheap enough in Bellingham that if you have a mid-sized sedan you can pretty much make up the cost of your trip by filling up down there.

      You can also try to make cheese… http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Cheese-at-Home. I made butter over the weekend. I’m not sure if I’d be brave enough to try making cheese.

Leave a Reply

