Frogurt!

Standard

Cost:  under 50 cents (for a teabag and sugar) plus some almost-expired yogurt
Success: 5/5

My Mom visited last weekend, and I had some Greek Yogurt in the fridge for her. She wasn’t able to eat it all before she left, and I forgot about it until the day it was set to expire.

I thought I might make a curry with it, but there was just so much left. Then I had a brainwave – I’d make frozen yogurt! That would also take care of the strawberries we got while she was here.

I jumped a little when I saw how mouldy the strawberries were. Blech. So I threw those out and searched around my place for something else fruitlike or fruit-esque. There were some oranges and an apple, but I figured there was good reason I had never heard of apple or orange yogurt. I spent some time weighing the pros and cons of using a fruit-flavoured tea bag, then decided to go wild and give it a try.

I brewed a small amount of tea, about equal to the amount of yogurt that was left. I added maybe 1/3 as much sugar as yogurt. I’m not really one to measure things when I’m cooking. Sometimes my free-spirited cooking philosophy leads to exciting new culinary flavours, and sometimes it just doesn’t.

This recipe was loosely based on a frozen yogurt popsicle recipe I made last year.

I mixed everything together in the chopper attachment for my kitchen wand. I LOVE that kitchen wand. (Sponsor me Cuisinart?) I stuck it in a Saskatchewan tupperware and into the freezer.

Some hours later, I sampled some. It was awesome! The tea flavour was mild but very nice, and it had a flavour and texture not to wildly different from store-bought frozen yogurt. In the photo above it looks pretty runny, but it was not all frozen at that point.

One response »

Leave a Reply

